Big Snowy Prize


A contest for young writers

Starting in 2014, Montana Quarterly began handing out two prizes annually to young Montana writers (30 or younger), one in nonfiction and one in fiction.

Winners in each category receive $500 and publication in the summer issue of the magazine. The winners of the 2021 Big Snowy Prizes were:

Emma Swanson
Cody Wallace

Emma Swanson, for her essay titled Waiting All Along.

Cody Wallace, for his short story The Boy and the Hunt.

Information about the ninth annual Big Snowy Prize will appear here early in 2022.

Past winners

2014: Laura Jean Schneider, fiction; Todd Burritt, nonfiction.

2015: Kelly McClorey, fiction; Joel Harris, nonfiction.

2016: KJ Kern, fiction; Tess Fahlgren, nonfiction.

2017: Holden Sieler, fiction; Nicholas Littman, nonfiction.

2018: Matt Stevenson, fiction; Madeline Hope-Rissman, nonfiction.

2019: Nick Pavelich, fiction; Chase Koenig, nonfiction.

2020: Christopher Munson, fiction; Rebecca Swanberg, nonfiction.